Cloud Feedbacks



Other MIPs



Google Calendar

Lab Calendar

Site Map


Privacy & Legal Notice

Thanks to Our Sponsors:

PCMDI > WCRP CMIP3 Model Output > Diagnostic Subprojects Printer Friendly Version
<< Back to WCRP CMIP3 Subproject Publications

  • Yokohata, T., S. Emori, T. Nozawa, T. Ogura, M. Kawamiya, Y. Tsushima, Ta. Suzuki, S. Yukimoto, A. Abe-Ouchi, H. Hasumi, A. Sumi, and M. Kimoto,, 2008: Comparison of equilibrium and transient responses to CO2 increase in eight state-of-the-art climate models. Tellus, doi: 10.1111/j.1600-0870.2008.00345.x.

We compared the climate response of doubled CO2 equilibrium experiments (2 × CO2) by atmosphere–slab ocean coupled general circulation models (ASGCMs) and that of 1% per year CO2 increase experiments (1%CO2 by atmosphere–ocean coupled general circulation models (AOGCMs) using eight state-of-the-art climate models. Climate feedback processes in 2 × CO2 are different from those in 1%CO2, and the equilibrium climate sensitivity (T2×) in 2 × CO2 is different from the effective climate sensitivity (T2×,eff ) in 1%CO2. The difference between T2× and T2×,eff is from −1.3 to 1.6 K, a large part of which can be explained by the difference in the ice-albedo and cloud feedback. The largest contribution is cloud SW feedback, and the difference in cloud SW feedback for 2 ×CO2 and 1%CO2 could be determined by the distribution of the SAT anomaly which causes differences in the atmospheric thermal structure.
An important factor which determines the difference in ice-albedo feedback is the initial sea ice distribution at the Southern Ocean, which is generally overestimated in 2 ×CO2 as compared to 1%CO2 and observation. Through the comparison of climate feedback processes in 2 ×CO2 and 1%CO2, the possible behaviour of the time evolution of T2×,eff is discussed.

Last Updated: 2008-08-26

<< Back to WCRP CMIP3 Subproject Publications
For questions or comments regarding this website, please contact the Webmaster.
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory  |  Physical & Life Sciences Directorate